Preparing For Mockingjay: Girlie Style

No I have not seen Mockingjay: Part 1 yet! So while I’m doing my best to avoid Twitter, most of my friends Facebook updates, Instagram, and basically every single internet platform not yet hacked by some miscreant cyber gang from Russia– I’m boiling over with unfettered anticipation, and I’m doing what any semi sane Hunger Games fan would be doing– I’m planning out my movie going outfit, of course!

Is it sad that I plan out movie going outfits? Specifically outfits that I’ll be wearing to see Hunger Games movies? I’ve already mapped it all out though, and yes I am wholly aware of how ridiculously girlie this behavior is. I can’t begrudge myself that though, ’cause last time I checked I am a girl! Anyway, if you must know, because I’m likely not going to take a massa_560x0 amount of selfies on the occasion, I’ll be in black, and I’ll be sporting red lipstick, because it’s become sort of a tradition. Every year since The Hunger Games world premiere in Los Angeles, I have warn red lipstick to see the movies for the first time. I guess I’ve always done this because I like idea of old Hollywood glamor, and in my world glamor equates to mildly uncomfortable makeup, and impossibly high heels. This year I’m foregoing the heels though. But what about the rest of me though? But of course since I’ve got one I gotta take it out for what’s probably going to be its only adventure outside ever, a replica headscarf of Effie’s District 13 kerchief. Why? ‘Cause I really want to annoy the people around me with the little ears it’ll put on top of my head. Also, because it’s honestly the only wearable piece of Hunger Games merchandise that I own. Nope, I don’t even own a Mockingjay pin.

So, while I’m probably going to smear lipstick all over my chin during the course of the film, and my mascara is going to run when it gets to any scene involving Peeta– I’m hoping beyond any modicum vanity that I have that Mockingjay: Part 1 lives up to the expectations that I’ve had for it since I read the novel in 2010, four years ago. I think out of all the books Mockingjay is the one that I read and said “this needs to be on a screen!” It might be the scope of war, or the propos, or the emotional rise and fall of the story– but this is the one, the one I need to be better than the last two. Because while The Hunger Games was good, and Catching Fire was as well, Mockingjay can’t rest on its laurels. That’s just my point of view though, not anyone else.

I’ll be seeing Part 1 tomorrow in a 21 and over theatre, so I may take a tipple to help the Peeta feels, cheers Tributes! See you on the other side.

Them There Eyes

One comment

  1. Hey, ThemThereEyes,

    Long time reader, first time commentor! 😉

    I remember you were very passionate about the soundtrack and especially “The Hanging Tree” — would it be folksy, Americana, blues, or (horror) Lorde-style? (Not that I have any personal feelings about Lorde… Her style’s just not what I imagined The Hanging Tree would sound like.) Anyway, thanks to this blog, I know that The Hanging Tree was played at the premiere. I googled till I found a clip of it. Have your heard it? What do you think?

    For others who haven’t heard it, scroll to the bottom of the page in the link below.

    http://ohnotheydidnt.livejournal.com/92441753.html

    PS Commentor? Commenter? How do I spell this?

Leave a Reply

