The Soundtrack– Let’s Get Judgey

Hold up your hand if you’re having trouble recognizing many of the artist names listed next to the songs on The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Pt 1’s original Motion Picture Soundtrack? Okay, if the hand count is what I think it might be, I’m going to make an educated guess that a large percentage of you do not know most of those artists names. If you think I’m going to scold you, and call you all old fogies, you’re dead wrong, ’cause I only recognize three of the names on that list. And they are as follows: Lorde, ’cause if I didn’t know that crazy girls name I’d be moving to San Fransisco and starting a vegan co-op (Royals was banned in San Francisco– true The-Hunger-Games_-Mockingjay-Pt.-1-Original-Motion-Picture-Soundtrack-608x608story), I also know who The Chemical Brothers are! Score two for me! And last of all, but not least of all there’s Chvrches. Woot! Oh, and then there’s Kanye West– which, no comment, actually I think The Girl With The Pearl said it best. I vaguely know who Grace Jones is as well, kind of the poor man’s Donna Summer– right? And apparently I’m supposed to know who Charli XCX is, but I’m drawing a total blank– ’cause I don’t tend to listen to a lot of Top 40 Radio unless it’s Top 40 from about 30 to 80 something years ago (think The Beatles, or Bessie Smith, or George Michael and Prince). Maybe I should just get a t-shirt printed out for myself that says “Old Fogie”, huh?

I believe the consensus amongst the fandom is a lukewarm disdain for the collection that Lorde has put together? If I’m wrong, feel free to wax philosophic over the merits of her choices in the comments! But from over here in Old Fogie Land, I was hoping and praying for a collection of artists that were a bit more reconizable to a broader base of human folk. Now I didn’t expect her to go knocking on the doors of Of Monsters and Men, Bon Iver, Arcade Fire, or maybe Broken Bells, but it would have been nice if she did. I do however see the intrigue in her choices of names that are a bit more obscure to say the least, especially in comparison to the likes of names such as Adam Levine, Taylor Swift, Coldplay, Phantogram, or Imagine Dragons.

I can’t believe this is happening but, props to Lorde for taking some risks. We may not all buy the album, but many of you will– and money will be made.

Them There Eyes

3 comments

  1. This album will definitely make a sale off me. I was incredibly disappointed with the majority of the Top 40 names on the Catching Fire sdtk. Some of the tracks from that album eventually grew on me but for the most part I still hit the next button a lot when I listen to it. I am often accused of being a music snob, mostly because when someone asks what I am listening to, it’s usually someone no one has ever heard of. With the exception of 1 artist on Lorde’s Mockingjay, I have heard of and love most of the artists on the album.
    As far as Kanye and that “Hip Hop Katniss” meme going around, we can all hate Kanye for his craptastic personality, but if you’re a hip hop and rap fan, there is very little to complain about when it comes to his talent.

    1. I don’t think the “Hip Hop Katniss” meme is in direct response to Kanye only. It just seems that the soundtrack list in general in made for clubbing and in that sense, not really an accurate representation of what’s happening in the story at alllll. Not that every other song in the past has been, but this is pretty out in left field.

Leave a Reply

