Gale Hawthorne– Blue Steel

So, this happened.

Rebels_Gale2

Along with that we also got the other equally as anticipated for character posters. The Girl With The Pearl, and JJ both covered this topic, but they didn’t cover this topic. Liam Hemsworth has one facial expression. You can take that one of two ways, that I’m poking fun at him, or that he’s got to make the best impression on casting directors– because if they paid more attention to his ability to express emotions with his face alone– he’d have to do a whole lot more than chat, or say lines, or whatever the hell those crazy kids are doing in casting rooms now.

In all seriousness, look at the evidence.

Exhibit A. Remarkable that he hasn't aged as well.

Exhibit: A. Remarkable that he hasn’t aged as well.

I don’t know about you, but to me that looks like the same expression he has in the character poster! Maybe I’m being overly critical, because there’s been so very little promotional material of real circumstance for this film as of yet. Yeah, we’ve got the tie-in propos, we got the teaser trailer, but we’re only now getting in character representations of new and old favorites– it feels a little stagnated. And then we get a patented Hemsy Blue Steel expression.

Exhibit B. Same every time.

Exhibit: B. Same every time.

Exhibit Do I Really Have to Say C?

Exhibit: Do I Really Have to Say C?

I feel like we’ve been hoodwinked a little bit, ’cause seriously! That’s the same friggin’ facial expression! True, it’s the same person in all of these photos, but isn’t he supposed to be expressing something else? Capitol Portrait Gale looks a little like he’s holding down a sneeze, I’ll give him that much! But the rest, even the examples of Liam not playing a character other than himself, those are undeniably similar to uncannily similar facial expressions. I’ll throw Liam one bone, ’cause I know I haven’t been that nice to him today. He’s much better outside of still photographs, granted he’s done his fair share of modeling, and he is without a doubt a very handsome young man, but his acting ability is not in his Blue Steel, it’s in his presence on screen, his entire body in movement, acting opposite other people– or with a better director off to the side giving him feedback. Stills are not his game, it’s just unfortunate, or fortunate depending upon how you look at the world, that the world at large’s first impression of Commando Gale looks about as annoyed as he might if his mom asked him to take out the trash. 

Until next time– this has been Them There Eyes with her wacky point of view on a piece of still photography.

8 comments

  1. Oh, Liam…

    Gale/Liam in the “I’m staying here” scene before the whipping gave me much hope. Liam in many other scenes/movies gave me…less than hope.

    Hopefully we see more of “Fightin’ Gale” in Mockingjay and less “smoldering no matter the situation” “still photography” Gale!

  2. Interesting. I totally disagree. I love Liam’s stills, and I love this most recent one. The only one I really don’t like is the poster at the top of this page because he looks so sad and defeated, the opposite of the determined, firey Gale of Mockingjay. My favorite still of his is the one in the locket, him on the first reaping day. Breaks my heart every time. As attractive as Sam Claflin is, for me, Liam would be my pick if I had to choose one to stare at all day. Gale also happens to be my favorite male character, so that doesn’t hurt either.

  3. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you are a great
    author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and may come back
    in the future. I want to encourage you to
    continue your great work, have a nice morning!

  4. Rather, they’re grown in tubes or troughs, in which the roots hang in open space, in which they may
    be periodically bathed which has a mist of
    nutrient rich water. Would you just like a haven from the world
    that you can feel good about indulging in because it
    really is energy-efficient and filled with
    sustainable materials. 1200 watt led grow lights for sale And just one more important fact is that the intensity
    from which these lights need to become emanated might be easily
    controlled based upon the requirement from the plants.

    In short, it can be possible to lower the intensity in the lighting if you don’t need bright lights especially during day time.

    Growing ourselves and quickening our vibrations will
    probably make these messages greater than eerie apparitions, but signs we could consciously follow.

Leave a Reply

