96 Days And Counting

We have 96 days and counting until the release of Mockingjay Part 1, but in reality a select few thousand only have about 80 something days to go. Yep, and those few thousand would be the people who will be attending the world premiere. Getting it out-of-the-way, I do not think I will be one of those few thousand. Why? Because if the world premiere is in London, or anywhere in Europe like it was for Catching Fire, there’s no way in hell I could afford to go. However for the sake of this article, let’s pretend I’m attending! In that case going along with the trend of wish lists that JJ started yesterday, this is what I wish will happen at the world premiere of The Hunger Games: Mockingjay: Part 1.

This guy needs to be in attendance, and inappropriately dressed.

District 7 dude, AKA the underwear model.

District 7 dude, AKA the underwear model.

Yes, because that seems to be his lot in life, and he’ll likely be paid a hefty sum, and that tends to sway most people to do things they wouldn’t do otherwise. However he seems to be adverse to pants, so– meh, who cares! I mean, I’m sure they’ll require pants, but like I said he seems adverse to them– I know this because I’ve fallen into the black hole that is Google image searching this man. And lemme just break it down for you younglings out there– it was eye-popping even for me, who is very much so not a child, I may be blushing right now actually. Or maybe I’m not, maybe I’m just drunk on life?

We all have wish lists for our lives, or for experiences in our lives. Weddings, parties, vacations, perhaps some of us out there hope to find that perfect pair of black heels that won’t kill us after ten minutes of walking. No? I cannot be the only one!? Anyway, aside from the fantasy of District 7 Underwear Model Dude attending the world premiere, and possibly magically making eye contact with him, and not bursting out laughing because, have I mentioned that Google image searching him leads to a black hole of Doctor Who sized proportions? Think about it, Doctor Who’s been in existence since 1962, that means the black hole is friggin’ huge. Where was I? Ah yes, what else my sick brain wants for the world premiere!

I’ve been to two Hunger Games premieres, the world premiere of The Hunger Games in Los Angeles, and then the domestic premiere of The Hunger Games: Catching Fire also in Los Angeles. The secondary cast was in attendance of course at the Catching Fire premiere, and the top billers, Jen, Josh, Liam, and Woody showed for the red carpet, and a photo op inside the venue (Woody only for the photo op). But then Lenny Kravitz walked by in black leather, and then Elizabeth Banks sauntered by as well, and then Aaron Sorkin walked by looking for his seat– and I started to quietly lose it. I need better celebrity sightings at the next world premiere! I kept hearing murmurs about Matt Damon being at the Catching Fire premiere, but I never saw the man– and I had good seats. So, if Matt Damon shows, or hell– Ben Affleck, I’ll have a lovely time in this sweet little fantasy I’ve got going on.

I’d like Donald Sutherland to do something thoughtful, and also entertaining. We know from his past behavior that he’s no stranger to small, but mighty gestures of appreciation towards the audience. What with him just recently showing up to the Teen Choice Awards wearing a tux, and throwing “Nightlock” at the audience after accepting his award for Best Villain, he’s undoubtedly up for seemingly anything. At the world premiere of The Hunger Games, he showed similar solidarity as well, yes by turning around, facing the “cheap seats”, and giving them the three finger salute whilst he was being introduced. So, if he can somehow get the concessionaires to show up in the aisles and douse the fan-section with complimentary bags of blue berries dressed up as Nightlock– that’d be awesome I have to admit. Or, y’know– pay for everyone’s parking.

How many times do I have to say it? Is it November yet?

Them There Eyes

Leave a Reply

