March Madness on the Mockingjay Set

KY JoshIt’s the time of year when college basketball fans (and fans of guessing things and gambling in office pools) get crazy. And I imagine the crazy is hitting the Mockingjay set quite a bit. The usually tweet-taciturn Josh Hutcherson is clearly excited – he’s actually tweeted THREE THINGS in the past two weeks, all March Madness related. But we already knew that Josh was a big Kentucky Wildcats fan, and I really dug the crowd’s reaction to him when he was at a UK game last December *THREE FINGER SALUTES FOREVER*.

But I’d imagine there’s definitely some fun sports-related tension going on now with fellow Kentucky native Jennifer Lawrence and her preferred team, the University of Louisville Cardinals. As the odds, and the teams’ quality of play would have it, Kentucky and Louisville are playing each other in the Sweet Sixteen round of the championship tonight. Louisville is a 4 seed and Kentucky an 8, which theoretically means Louisville is favored to win. But if there’s one thing March Madness teaches us every year, it’s that the seedings don’t dictate the outcome, especially this year with all the upsets.  I watched the Kentucky game during the last round, and even a relatively sports-phobic person like me enjoyed it – it was exciting right down to the end.

Jen louisvilleFor undergrad and grad school, I attended universities where basketball is a religion, so I understand what it’s like to get caught up in the fervor of March, even when the rest of the year I could usually care less. But the schools I went to also mean another thing for me tonight– I don’t want either Kentucky or Louisville to win! So while I have no stake in the outcome, I hope that Jen and Josh have some kind of bet going on related to it. That always makes the game more interesting.

I’ll probably be watching tonight out of curiosity and remembering fondly how North Carolina beat both Louisville and Kentucky in the regular season this year. (Ok, I revealed one of my schools, you’ll have to guess at the other).

All I know is that Katniss and Peeta would’ve been UNC fans anyway.

JJ

Leave a Reply

