Being Paid To Be a Dick

Yeah, I said it– and I’ll say it loudly! Owen Gleiberman was probably paid a nominal fee to tear down The Hunger Games franchise, and tout Divergent as better, more perfect, more– whatever than The Hunger Games times a billion zillion! In the grand scheme of things, and also in the tiny scheme of things, Gleiberman’s opinions are a moot point. Some people just have varying tastes, some people think that pickles and ice cream is yummy times a thousand, and also not when pregnant– as popular culture has deemed that food combination to be appropriate when a lady person’s hormones are going every which way, and therefore she craves crazy-ass combos, like ice cream and pickles. Weird food combinations aside, I know people who rant and rave about how great Divergent is! Me though? I’ve never read the books, and I’m not going to see the movie, because yep– I’m a movie snob, and if a film is not fresh rated on Rotten Tomatoes, I’m not going to waste my hard earned money on it. Just my stance on my fun-money, no wasting it on mediocrity. So, let’s talk about some different films for a second, because that’s where in a better world, you’d be spending your money, and maybe having a better time.

I’ve seen some good films lately, and none of them are part of any huge flashy franchises. I tend to see smaller films anyway, it’s just how I roll. So if you’re more inclined to skip the box office monsters in the next few weeks, or just want to stay home and jammy-pants it whilst watching NetFlix, by all means read on.

Tim’s Vermeer: It’s a documentary, but made by one of the most unlikely documenterians ever, Penn of Penn and Teller fame, followed the process of his good friend

Tim being amazing

Tim being amazing

Tim, a genius in his own right, attempting to prove that Johannes Vermeer used lenses, or camera obscura, as well as mirrors to achieve his masterful true to life paintings. The painstaking process Tim goes through is daunting, and fascinating, and if you like art, classic art, nerds being nerds, and science– watch this movie as soon as you possibly can!

About Time: It’s by the same team that brought us to tears with Love Actually as well as Four Weddings and a Funeral. It’s classic Brit humor, quiet, sweet, thought-provoking, and well acted. It stars Domhnall Gleeson, best known for portraying Bill Weasley in The Harry Potter franchise. The story is odd, a young man is told by his father (Bill Nighy) that all the men in their family possess the power to go backwards in time, however only within the confines of their own personal lifetimes. Time travel, I know!? Crazy, weird idea! But this is a much less science fiction-y way of doing time travel, it’s more about letting a person become the person they always had the potential to be by allowing him (Domhnall) to get to do do-overs. It’s how he meets his wife, it’s how he can say good-bye to his father in the sweetest way possible, it’s how he saves his sisters life. It’s wonderful, and if you’re not into soft, quiet films– stay the fuck away.

That’s all folks! Go watch movies!

Them There Eyes

7 comments

  1. I give you lots of credit for writing about this calmly, and then turning it into some nice movie recs (I want to see About Time). Even after sleeping on it, I’m still pissed about Gleiberman’s complete misinterpretation of Katniss’s character, Jen’s performance, and the themes of THG. The whole thing was gross click bait, so I thank you for not linking to it.

    And for calling him out on being a dick.

  2. If we’re doing movie recs – which sounds much more compelling than the other subject matter – Short Term 12 is the one I’d like to throw out there. It’s my second favorite movie of the year (the first one was Gravity, psst, I’m a future physicist, and despite some inaccurate details it’s a really cool portrayal of space and its physics), and it’s heartbreaking and uplifting and just really simple, and Brie Larson was robbed of a Best Actress nomination for it. I don’t know if it’s on Netflix or not, hopefully it is.

    And if we’re talking about Divergent, let’s talk about The Spectacular Now with Miles Teller and Shailene Woodley. It’s also in my Top 10 for 2013 – in short, TSN is a really smartly written coming of age story, that somehow always manages to go against your expectations. It’s really well acted and well-written, and Dayo Okeniyi has a relatively smaller but significant part in it, so there’s one more reason to check that one out.

    1. Brie Larson didn’t get the attention she deserved for that film…If you like Indie movies you should check out Mud, a really interesting coming of age film.

      P.S As a non-book reader, Divergent wasn’t as bad as all the critics are saying it is. Its a fun movie with a good female heroine. Tris is a lot more conventional action lead than Katniss because she has agency. However personally, I find Katniss’ arc more interesting because it plays into the theme of being a puppet for the government.

      1. I really liked Mud, it had a great atmosphere, great cast, and that kid, Tye Sheridan, was insanely good in it. I’ve actually seen an unusually (from me at least, I’m more of a TV kind of person) high number of movies last year, and a lot of them were indies. And gosh, there are so many that I’d like to get more people to see! Just out the top of my head: Frances Ha is this wonderfully spirited movie about friendship and trying to figure out your life at 27, I’ve had so much fun with Joss Whedon’s Much Ado About Nothing, I don’t understand how Rush didn’t have a bigger audience, The Place Beyond The Pines seems to be a hit and miss with people, but it really hit for me, Ain’t Them Bodies Saints was shot so prettily, everyone should give a shot to the Before… movies, and I really loved this earnestly sweet documentary from Sarah Polley called Stories We Tell.

        That being said, I do plan on eventually seeing Divergent (not before Grand Budapest Hotel though ;)). Despite the low critical response the movie’s CinemaScore for example was curiously high, even though according to statistics only 50% of the audience were book readers. So I guess that means that the movie is probably meeting expectations.

  3. I just came from seeing Divergent and liked the movie quite a bit. How I feel about Divergent, however, is completely irrelevant to how I feel about The Hunger Games. Two different stories, two different characters.

    What really bugs me is the attitude that there can only be ONE female heroine, like it’s a competition. I want to see more, more, MORE great book and movie heroines, and want them all to be different and in different stories. The idea that there can only be one that’s worthwhile is incredibly silly. Or, yeah, dickish.

    Can’t blame you about your trepidation. I have my own about the follow-up movies. I liked the first book in the series, but felt the other two really fell short and wasted the potential of the first one. But maybe they’ll fix that in the movie versions.

    Anyway, I’m glad I saw it.

  4. Some terrific movie ideas — thanks guys! I’m going to go see Divergent today. Shailene Woodley is a terrific actress, the movie sound like a fun outing on a dreary wintery evening, and this one fandom vs. another thing is beyond ridiculous. I’ll applaud all the strong female leads Hollywood can dish up.

Leave a Reply

