Winning

This is going to come as a shock to pretty much every single Hunger Games fan on the planet, but I do not want Jennifer Lawrence to win at the Oscars tomorrow night. Yeah, throw tomatoes, or bags of dog poo at me (I’d prefer tomatoes, thank you), but I think I have a good reason for not wanting her to win, or perhaps more than one reason.

Reason number one: I don’t want any more Jennifer Lawrence hate flooding the Internets at large. See, in our sick, twisted, stupid, and fucked up society, we tend to really, really, really, really like to kick people when they’re at a high point. Example: Remember when everyone loved Anne Hathaway, or at least liked her acting, and mostly tolerated her perkiness, and her eager to

Yeah... I think we'll keep her.

Yeah… I think we’ll keep her.

please attitude? Yeah, well– have you seen much of Anne Hathaway lately? I’ll answer that question for you. NOPE! She’s been working, true– but she’s had one of the lowest public profiles since her breakthrough role in 2001. And do you know why she’s been so low-key lately? Welp, because the media, and the Internets started becoming an all out hate mongering death trap for her. Jen’s different though, talent wise she’s on par with Hathaway, because come on– even if you don’t like Hathaway you cannot deny that the woman is talented at her craft. However, where Jen and her differ greatly is their all out public persona. Jen’s kind of no-nonsense, quirky, and unapologetic for her inability to conform. Hathaway, um– yeah, she’s kind of a bit of a conformist, a bit faux, and kinda sorta a priss. Seriously, I don’t think we’ll ever see Hathaway making the faces that Jen does, which is okay– Jen’s doin’ her thang, and I will never not enjoy her weird. But Anne, even after all the praise, and the awards, and the hard work she put in, she got a hate storm of epic proportions thrown at her after she won, and was nominated for everything under the sun, and she got that storm thrown at her because she was doing well, and people got tired of her doing well. I do not want that to happen to Jen, therefore even though I do think that her performance in American Hustle was commendable, in full disclosure mode– I

Sunday, be there or be square

Sunday, be there or be square

don’t think it’s her year.

Which brings me to my second reason: Lupita Nyong’o– her performance in 12 Years a Slave is earth shatteringly good, actually everyone’s performance in 12 Years a Slave is more than good, all the way down to Garret Dillahunt, and one of my personal favorite character actors, Paul Dano. You know how there are films that just deserve to be recognized because they go places that have never been gone to before? For example Philadelphia, or Midnight Cowboy, 12 Years a Slave is like those films and the performances are above board, and without qualms, or mercy, or affectedness– American Hustle, and Jennifer Lawrence– I can’t with a clear conscience say that either has those same facets in my opinion.

May the best woman win!

Them There Eyes

4 comments

  1. I do agree people love to start throwing stuff if someone is doing really well. Jen has won some pretty big prizes this awards season already. The golden Globe and Bafta awards were pretty big ones. Jennifer has a very natural talent. Even in her early roles her acting is so good. I hope she is around for a long time and people let her be. She wants some time off to be with Nick and deserves it after she wraps Mockingjay. Lupita is good but watching her in movies with a lesser part I don’t think she will stand the test of time like Jen probably will. Maybe I am wrong but the raw talent of Jen is something rare in Hollywood. I think Donald Sutherland said for people to leave her alone that her acting is perfect. I agree. If she wins tomorrow so be it. She won with her talent. But many have campaigned for Lupita so I think you are right there might be some backlash from it.

    1. Specifically with this award season, a lot of people hate that a white person is winning awards over a black person. It has nothing to do do with Jennifer or Lupita’s performances but just general racial prejudice. It is completely unfair to both women but its kind of hate that kind damage someone’s career long-term wise.

  2. On a side note, can we all just retire the word “quirky” now? Also “edgy”, that one needs to go too.

  3. Also, I will never not love Anne “Princess Mia” Hathaway. The public and the media are fickle mistresses, what are ya gonna do?

Leave a Reply

