Accepting Sam: Seriously Just Do It Already

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire has been released all over the world for a couple of weeks now, and that means that the world at large’s head vision of Finnick Odair should be transforming into one Sam Claflin for the most part, right? Wrong! Sadly as the person who was the mouthpiece behind the totally-defunct-dead-as-a-door-nail-dead-dead-dead campaign to have Armie Hammer cast as Finnick– I’ve unfortunately been privy to people just not fucking giving up and not accepting the very talented, the totally worthy, and the super nice person that is Sam Claflin as Finnick Odair. As of yesterday the Tumblr titled Armie Hammer for Finnick Odair was still 4f6a9f1fe56cc1309c438e222df39ecein existence, but that doesn’t mean it had been updated for over a year– and get this, I was daily getting multiple follower alerts for it. Not only was I getting them daily mind you, they actually, and dumb-foundingly started increasing once The Hunger Games: Catching Fire was released. Pretty weird, huh? I think so.

Guess what I did yesterday!? G’head, guess? Yep, I deleted that floundering sucker! Why? Because as I said above, it hadn’t been updated in probably about a year, and also I think it was kind of sad that people were still following it. Yeah, I said it– sad. I honestly thought that once Sam was cast that people would give up, that people would fall away, that the campaign would just out quietly, and that my dears is exactly why I lazed and didn’t delete the stupid, silly thing. Erm, also I had relinquished control of it to PeetaToast over on Tumblr sometime towards the end of the initial campaign, and thought maybe she would eventually step up and say or suggest, “shall I delete this very dead thing?” But that never happened, and the follow alerts kept pouring in to my inbox, and well– annoying me. Yeah, you could say I deleted the thing because it was more annoying than painful to be reminded that who I wanted to be cast was in fact not? But, well– yes, that is the case. Annoyance thy name is silly, sad people who cannot accept Sam Claflin as Finnick Ordair, ’cause, damn it all to hell people– I sure as hell have, and I don’t know why you bloody have not!

Hey you guys! You annoyed me enough to make me delete something I didn’t care about anymore! Now to ditch the Facebook page as well!

 

Them There Eyes

 

PS. I’m still a fan of Armie Hammer’s.

6 comments

  1. *applause* Sam is Finnick. I don’t know how people can say differently after seeing the movie!

    Also, it’s perfectly possible to delete the Facebook page! It takes a couple weeks to go through, but the page will disappear!

  2. I’m not sure why I never asked to delete it or deleted it. Maybe I just liked the memories of the Armie campaigning days? Not sure but I kept it a part of my tumblr for a while but never deleted it off my account until maybe a month ago?

    I had no clue it was still getting follows! That’s really interesting- and confusing. I still love Armie but I’m so happy Sam was cast- as I was when he was first cast.

    1. Yeah, it was weird, weird, weird. Also sad, like I said above. Oh well, it was a shot in the dark, also by the time Lone Ranger started in on it’s forth month, and needed doctoring I knew it was over– Armie was roped in tight and could not get away. I don’t even think he auditioned. I bet his people were contacted, but honestly– I don’t think he he wanted it.

Leave a Reply

