Rebel-lious

It’s an odd day in Hunger Games franchise news-dome, and all because there’s no Liam Hemsworth tidbits to relate! There’s other ridiculousness however, which either tickles you greatly, or makes you scratch your head and say, “what?” Today something resembling news broke, and it is that the comedienne Rebel Wilson allegedly has had a meeting with Lionsgate about her taking a role in Mockingjay. There are all kinds of questions behind this so-called development in the much awaited, and anticipated casting of Mockingjay, and the first question that crossed my proverbial lips was “are you serious?” Let me be crystal clear on one thing, I like Rebel Wilson, I’ve seen Pitch Perfect, Bridesmaids, and Bachelorette, and I think she’s an apt comedienne, a talented singer, and savvy lady person– but do I think she fits in the array of actors that already make up the existing cast of The Hunger Games franchise? Not so much.

Sheffield_Rebel_Wilson_0246

Rebel, all dolled up and ready for a fight– to prove herself?

Friends of mine, and fellow fans as well, have speculated that if there’s any legitimacy to Rebel’s statements, she’s only “right” for a very small number of roles. Aside from the Capitol citizen with the sausage, and going by her statement that the role is a Capitol citizen, she could be up for the role of Cressida: The rebel Capitol citizen who’s the director of all those notorious propos made to be broadcast to the districts, and later hacked onto the air in the Capitol. She’s described as a young woman with a shaved head, and green vine tattoos. So, for all intents and purposes her physical description is as vague as basically every other secondary character invented by Suzanne Collins. Next we have Fulvia Cardew, aka Plutarch Heavensbee’s uptight assistant. Fulvia’s physical description is vague, (I know– such a surprise), plump cheeks, and silver tattoos gracing said plump cheeks. Rebel’s no Skinny Minnie, we know this, and I don’t begrudge her her size– she’s what I like to call normal, and it’s a welcome sight to those of us who haven’t worn single digit sized jeans in almost a decade. Fulvia is the only character I can realistically see her being up for, but I’m still extremely wary of the thought as I would initially see her casting as a gimmick. All that being said some of the best actors out there make their bread and butter with comedic roles and projects, whilst interspersing or finally being offered dramatic opportunities, and more often than not they do fantastic jobs. Think Robin Williams, Jamie Foxx, Billy Crystal, Albert Brooks, Steve Martin, Jack Lemmon, Danny DeVito, Whoopie Goldberg, Jim Carrey, Mo’nique, Bill Murray, and Patton Oswalt. So, while I’m all twisty and worried, I know that if Rebel is anything like her more seasoned counterparts, she’s probably more than capable of doing a sobbingly moving job in serious work, because comedians are the worlds best observers, and interpreters of human behavior, and the human condition.

You literally have just witnessed my coming to terms with, and being okay with Rebel Wilson being possibly cast in Mockingjay. But only if she’s Fulvia.

Them There Eyes

29 comments

    1. I think realistically Rebel is wrong for Tigris, and judging by the physicality that Tigris is supposed to have, i.e. she’s adopted cat-like movements to match her cat features, including a tail, they would be better off finding an actor with dance training. I’d go as far as to fan-cast Summer Glau even.

  1. Tigris is also a possibility I’ve seen some people mention. I don’t remember her physical description though, aside from the catlike modifications.

  2. This might actually be her way of proving she is capable of being something other than a comedienne, looking at more serious roles. I thought she was amazing in Pitch Perfect and What to expect when you’re expecting (isn’t it funny she’s worked with Elizabeth Banks twice already? I think it’s cool!). I understand your worries although I’m not too worried, I think Rebel has talent that we have yet to discover. I’d love it if she was cast, in the right role of course. I trust the casting so far so if they do, it means they see something good I think. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Victor's Village
  4. I гeally love yօur blog.. Pleasant colors & theme. Ɗid yyou develop thіs site youгѕelf?
    Pleasе reply Ƅack as I’m planning tο create my own blog andd want tо ҝnow wheге
    үou goot thіs fгom oг just ԝhat thee theme іs called.
    Мany thanks!

  5. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.
    I’m quite sure I’ll learn many new stuff right
    here! Best of luck for the next!

  6. Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to
    and you are just too great. I really like what you’ve acquired here,
    certainly like what you are saying and the way in which you say it.

    You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it smart.

    I can not wait to read much more from you. This is actually
    a terrific site.

  7. Right off the bat we could tell exactly what Sigmund was trying to tell us about the console-friendly UI.
    With more powerful processors, implementation of
    features like 3D and possibly more affordable models, video
    games have really made it leaps and bounds ahead of other
    entertainment in how fast it has grown. On the flip side of the glitz and glamour, California is also known for its high crime rate, magnified by television documentaries such as MSNBC’s Lockup: Raw.

  8. Furthermore, your tablet can be installed with e-book readers so
    you can just go to a library for a peaceful and comfortable ambiance.
    Other features include Video camera, GPS, touchscreens, accelerometer, and magnetometer etc.

    Android is the open source product, according to experts
    it will continue to render cutting edge technologies for the users as it will emerge with the time.

  9. Not only does it get costly when you pay for the cards
    individually, the postage adds up too. This is one time of the year when school children look
    forward to a party in the class and a time to distribute Valentines
    to their friends. ” If you’re all too familiar with that sad sound and phrase, don’t worry; you’re not alone.

Leave a Reply

