Finally Winning That Magical Internet Pony

We did it, guys! The Hunger Games: Catching Fire won the tournament-style MTV Movie Brawl 2013, beating The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones by 100,000 votes out of 10 million total in the final round. Catching Fire is “officially” the most anticipated movie of the year!

 

MTV Movie Brawl 2013

I couldn’t have been happier to hear the news that Catching Fire won, not after last year’s upset when Cosmopolis took the crown. Heck, I was just happy to know that we’d be in the finals with a movie that deserved to be there this time around. And to be clear, I’m not saying Cosmopolis is terrible (I still haven’t seen it so I can’t judge), and this ain’t Robert Pattinson hate either since I find he’s a pretty cool dude. Let me put it this way: the past couple of weeks while the movies were a-brawlin’, I told the story of last year’s Brawl several times to some of my coworkers, and when I’d say that Cosmopolis won, without fail, every response was, “What’s that?” How could it have been the most anticipated movie of 2012 when my small cross-section of people didn’t even know that it was a movie that existed? But hey, I’m still bitter.

mortal-instruments-city-of-bones-lily-collinsNo, this year, we were at least up against the first The Mortal Instruments movie, a movie that I am actually anticipating almost as much as Catching Fire, thanks to the fact that I’ve read (more like devoured) the first 3 TMI books in the last month or so and the movie’s cast filled with practically every actor I’ve ever loved. You bet I’m dragging my friends to see that movie, which happens to come out the weekend of my birthday. I also knew that The Mortal Instruments have a huge following that often overlaps with the Hunger Games fandom so it would make it an interesting match-up. It seemed like a much fairer fight this year, so I was pretty content to just see what would happen.

And we won! That Magical Internet Pony we can brag about is now finally ours.

Until next year
Twiffidy

One comment

  1. Oh wow! My birthday’s on August 22nd! I consider TMI: CoB to be an awesome, awesome birthday present. Last year The Hunger Games came out on my sister’s birthday. Such happy coincidences.

Leave a Reply

