Let’s Go To The Aquarium!

Before all the Internets was abuzz with spoiler laden photos of The Gruesome Threesome in Hawaii in full on Arena wears, and other stuff that I won’t be talking about, because they are in fact spoilers, and I respect people’s choices not to view said spoiler laden photos. By the way you should very much so be reading the word spoilers, how I do in my head. Yes– like a tiny girl whispering “witches…” all conspiratorial and creepy like, or– how The Albino in The Princess Bride first uttered “The Depths of Despair…” take your pick, both work for me. A couple of weeks ago though, or maybe less than that, the cool place to go for the cast of Catching Fire, and not in a beautifully, and thoughtfully designed costume by Trisha Summerville, was The Georgia Aquarium! The cast for the most part have left Georgia however, and the cool place for the new shooting location has yet to be determined (I’m hoping it’s a Shave Ice place). The Aquarium by my count though was visited by more than half the cast, including the charming and quirky Ms. Lawrence, the equally charming and eloquent Josh Hutcherson, and the ever enthusiastic and positive thinker– Mr. Bruno Gunn. Basically, some of those fair water-dwelling creatures were ogled by some famous humans, some were even touched by them, but not inappropriately.

The last time I went to an aquarium was probably more than a decade ago, I do personally live in a coastal state in the US that boasts a healthy fishing industry– in fact I live in what will eventually be District 4, you know if the world goes the way Suzanne Collins wrote. I’m no more than an hour away from the ocean, that’s if you don’t stop for ice cream, or jerky at one of those fruit stands that seem to always dot and line touristy highways all over the US and Canada. What I remember about the aquarium in my world though, is what I see in photos of the Georgia Aquarium. Large vista rich enclosures that span over peoples heads as they walk through tunnels made of glass. I don’t recall how long it took to get through my aquarium, but I’ve been told that the Georgia Aquarium is a speedy walk-through of about 90 minutes– but if you’re like me, you’ll get stuck in front of the jelly fish exhibit, and marvel at how a spineless prehistoric creature can be so mesmerizing, and down right comforting to watch. The Georgia Aquarium is top notch in comparison to the two that I’ve visited in my life, which if you’re curious are The Oregon Coast Aquarium, where Keiko the Orca (Free Willy), lived before he was partially set free in the North Atlantic, and The Monterey Bay Aquarium right off Cannery Row, which was immortalized in the stunning novella by John Steinbeck– Cannery Row.

I have to tell you all though, mermaids don’t exist.

Them There Eyes

One comment

  1. In my mind, “spoilers” should be pronounced, “sssspoilersss…..” as if a Parselmouth was speaking it. (For those who don’t get the Potter reference, think of a slow, ominous hiss.)

    Anyway, thanks for respecting us fans who are spoilered out! I for one looked at only one of the Arena photos before clicking the “back” button. I just feel like it’s too much, too early. I’d probably feel differently if it was only a month or two before the premiere, but we still have almost a year to go.

    To other fansite admins who might be reading; I also respect how pretty much every major fansite has chosen to protect those who don’t want to be spoiled!

Leave a Reply

