Mockingjay’s New Strong Writer?

Today, Variety reported that Danny Strong, recent Emmy winning screenwriter of HBO’s Game Change, will be the new writer for both parts of Mockingjay. While, as of publication, this news is strictly rumor since Lionsgate has not commented either way, this news made me a tad more excited than I allow myself to get over strictly-rumors.

I have not seen Game Change yet so I can’t exactly say anything about his writing abilities, but the fact that I watched him receive a couple of Emmys just over a week ago helps alleviate any concern. The fact is that I – and probably most everybody else – am far more familiar with his work as an actor. Though his IMDb boasts over 40 credits, his roles as Jonathan on Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Doyle on Gilmore Girls are what I know him best from.

Two Sundays ago, I had a near freak out when I realized that Paris’s boyfriend was the guy on my TV accepting an Emmy. I even referred to him as that to my family who was also watching the Emmys with me. And now there is a slight possibility that he might be THE GUY that will be adapting Mockingjay into two movies. Well, Mr. Strong, over at my other project we’ve got some ideas for you. You might want to check it out.

 

When I think of Danny Strong, I see this

What gets me excited the most though is that we know that Danny Strong has some idea of what huge fandoms are like and how to deal with them. Fast backward 10 or so years, and ask yourself what the biggest fandom out there was. The answer would most likely be Buffy the Vampire Slayer. And Danny Strong appeared throughout several seasons of the show. It would be quite a coup to nab not only one of the hottest writers out there now, but one that is familiar with the cult-phenomena environment.

Not only that, but he has also been hired to do rewrites on the script for Dan Brown’s The Lost Symbol. Say what you want about Dan Brown, but there is no denying that his books are extremely popular. Experience adapting popular novels into movies is just another leg up for Danny Strong.

Like I said, this is strictly rumor, so I’m trying my absolute hardest not to be too excited. But it would be an excellent choice nonetheless.

Now about the First Evil thing…
Twiffidy

4 comments

  1. And it is also rumored by the Hollywood Reporter that Chris Terrio, Vanessa Taylor, and Drew Goddard is also up for grabs to write the script.

Leave a Reply

