Confirmed Unofficially

Dear media-

You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.

I’m referring, of course, to the word “confirmed”.

Because all these news reports have gone out about Sam Claflin being confirmed to play Finnick and that it’s all official and blah blah blah. You know, it may be true. And I wouldn’t even be angry. I’d be the exact opposite of angry in fact because back when I saw Pirates 4 in theaters, I walked out of it totally in love with Sam Claflin. This isn’t about him. This is about the fact that the search for Finnick Odair is not over until Lionsgate sings.

Here’s what happened.

A site devoted to “polic[ing] the gossip industry” called Gossip Cop said that they have a “source” confirm that it was true. Other news sites and many fans have decided to take it as fact. The actual fact of the matter is that without naming the source we don’t know who is confirming this and all we can do is to trust that “Gossip Cop” has a reliable source. And you gotta wonder, as policers of the gossip industry, who polices them?

So here’s a sure fire way to know what is official and what isn’t. You ready?

Go here. Is the casting announcement there? What about here? If it isn’t on either one of those sites, and if there isn’t a link to a press release from Lionsgate – your trusty fansites and news media sites get those, you know – then whatever it is is strictly rumor. And if you want some good Catching Fire rumors, we’ve got the best ones.

Like I said, I’m not saying it’s not true. I’m saying you gotta be careful and don’t trust headlines. You’ll see CONFIRMED in the title, but reading further and between the lines, you’ll find out just how confirmed the news is.

Lastly, news is either official or it isn’t. “Close to being official” is still unofficial. Remember: not until Lionsgate sings.

Imagine this is Lionsgate.

Preferably some Carly Rae Jepsen. Because Sam Claflin can Call Me Maybe 😉
Twiffidy

7 comments

  1. And what was that nonsense about Nina confirming, no one would ever point me toward that statement in writing. Actually, I too liked him in Pirates: OST, so I don’t hate the idea. But the petty me kind of wants it to not happen just to see if any of the so called journalist who’ve said it’s confirmed, are made to publicly admit they are irresponsible and suck at their job.

  2. I feel it in my gut he’ll be cast. Just like it was no surprise when Jena Malone was cast. Where there’s smoke (for a long time, and a whole lot of it) there’s one hell of a fire.

    And I can’t say I’d be crying about it. I’ll have to go see his work to know he’s got the chops like Them There Eyes says, but I would so accept a sugar cube from him.

  3. Haha.. now, looking at the Princess Bride thing, I wish that Wesley (Westley? I was never sure. Stupid Buttercup {Princess, not cat} and your pronunciation!) was younger becasue then we would have our Finnick Odair *heart*

Leave a Reply

