Finding Finnick Odair — Ryan Kwanten

Ryan Kwanten is best known for his role as Jason Stackhouse on HBO’s True Blood. His name has come up in fan casting for the role of Finnick O’dair. Now the fan sites weigh in. Is Ryan Kwanten right for Finnick?

Ryan Kwanten True Blood Hunger Games Finnick Odair

Ryan Kwanten

Victor’s Village
Rebekah: I’ve been a fan of Ryan Kwanten’s since before he was on True Blood, but as much as I love and adore his work now and in the past, there are too many factors going against him in the case of being a good candidate for Finnick Odair. For one thing, he is contracted to HBO for months on end each year, and those months I’m pretty sure fall during the time in which Catching Fire is going to be filming. Another factor is that he’s too old for the part, Ryan is in his mid 30s, and to me he looks it. Finnick we know is 24, Ryan cannot pass for 24 anymore, this is evidenced by his character on True Blood being looked at funny when he tries to hang out with a younger crowd. So there you have it, too busy, and too old. Moving on!

HG Movie Site
My argument over Ryan Kwanten as Finnick is similar to the one I had for Ian Somerhalder. Ryan is handsome, talented and has abs like a washboard. Unfortunately, he is too old. I can’t think of any other reason why he couldn’t be Finnick except his age. The end.

HG Fireside Chat
Savanna: I love you, Ryan Kwanten, but I’m currently incapable of separating you from your True Blood character, Jason Stackhouse. And Jason Stackhouse would be a terrible Finnick. I’m sorry. Adam: Jason Stackhouse and Finnick Odair have some surprising similarities; they both do quite well with the ladies, and they’re both likely from southern coastal areas. However, the one great differentiation, which cannot be ignored, is that Jason Stackhouse is as dumb as a trident and Finnick Odair wields a trident with as much brain as physique. Kwanten truly is Stackhouse, so much so that he simply cannot be Finnick.

The Hob
Amanda: Ryan Kwanten is such a hard actor for me to debate for Finnick! He’s absolutely gorgeous, with the body and looks for Finnick. And I have no doubt he could pull off the necessary charismatic attitude. I’ve loved him from the second he stepped on screen on the CW’s Summerland, so separating him from his Jason Stackhouse character on True Blopd isn’t an issue for me. Give me this choice 5 years ago, and I’d be all over it. But Ryan today, in his mid-thirties, just looks too old for Finnick, as much as I hate to admit it.

HG Girl on Fire
Sheila: 1st let me say that I love Ryan Kwanten. I love him on True Blood, and loved him in Summerland and while I definitely think he has the physique necessary to play Finnick, the question remains is he the Finnick for me? Sadly I have to say no he isn’t. In my opinion, Ryan looks older than the Finnick I imagined, and for me, Ryan is so connected to his character in True Blood, that I’m afraid I would have trouble not seeing him as “Jason Stackhouse”.

Mockingjay
Crystal: There’s no doubt that Ryan Kwanten has the looks and the body (woohoo!) for Finnick, but he’s played the ditzy southern manwhore for so long on True Blood that I don’t know if I could ever separate the two. It’d be an interesting experiment to see if it’s possible for him to throw out a completely new performance and see if we all buy it, but Finnick isn’t exactly someone you want to experiment with. He’s a great actor, in my opinion, but he just carries too much character baggage with him.

Hope you’ve all enjoyed the Finding Finnick Odair series! This is the last week we planned out, seeing as most of us assumed we’d have some Finnick casting info already! Now.. we wait. And try not to spontaneously combust.

Leave a Reply

