Victor’s Village First Anniversary and Hunger Games Giveaway!

HAPPY ANNIVERSARY, BITCHES!

It was on June 13, 2011 that The Girl With The Pearl officially launched Victor’s Village with this post. She did so after zero luck while applying to other fansites, with only one affiliate (The Hob) and no idea what the site would grow into (though I’m not going lie– I secretly hoped to be “Internet famous”, which would pretty much put us on par with a D-list celebrity).

But I didn’t get to one year all by myself, despite that being my original plan. There are a lot of people I need to dedicate this first year to, so HERE GOES NOTHIN’:

  • To the “writers” who originally agreed to work on Victor’s Village, then stopped responding to my e-mail a week before launch.

  • To Them There Eyes and Twiffidy, two amazingly fantastic writers who came on board in September and do not suck at life like the previously mentioned “writers”.

  • To Savanna and Adam of Hunger Games Fireside Chat, who put us on the map in The Hunger Games community by inviting us into their little family. Also, for our domain name, because technically they own it!

  • To the other amazing fansite friends we’ve made, especially those who joined us at the premiere of The Hunger Games.

  • To all the readers who leave smart, hilarious, insightful comments and rebuttals that make our lives a little better with each one.

  • To the readers who ONLY comment when they want to give us shit. You bastards know who you are… Just kidding! Sort of.

  • To the pervy fans who only stumbled across our site while looking for Hunger Games-related smut.

  • To all the Hunger Games fans who don’t realize there’s an apostrophe in “Victor’s”. LOOK IT UP.

  • To the actors who have read and responded to our articles. In our minds, everyone has read our blog. In reality, we can only confirm Jackie Emerson, Armie Hammer, and Daniel “my fake cousin directed me here to defend myself” Newman.

  • To The Fandom, Welcome to District 12, and Armie Hammer for Finnick Odair, for keeping the three of us busy and sane outside of Victor’s Village.

  • To The Hunger Games Hob, especially Tess from Tanglethorne, for providing us with amazing prizes for contests.

  • To the actors, filmmakers, and all the other people behind The Hunger Games, for providing a constant source of inspiration.

  • To the media sources covering The Hunger Games, for providing constant fodder for us to facepalm about.

  • To Suzanne Collins, the Mac Daddy to end all Mac Daddies

And YOU. No matter where you fall in that line of dedications, if you’re reading this right now… Thanks.

Now it’s time for us to give something back to you!

Entering is simple: Leave a comment on this post discussing favorite Victor’s Village post and why you love it (and INCLUDE YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS, otherwise we can’t contact you) and you’ll be entered to win some brilliant prizes!

GRAND PRIZE

One poster signed by Willow Shields (Prim) and Isabelle Fuhrman (Clove) from the Los Angeles premiere of The Hunger Games!

The Hunger Games Willow Shields Isabelle FuhrmanThe Hunger Games Willow Shields Isabelle Fuhrman

First Prize

Your choice of one Hunger Games propaganda/District 12 business poster from Blueleaf Creative!

Blueleaf Creative Propo postersBlueleaf Creative The Hob Mellark Bakery posters

Second Prize

Mockingjay pocket watch from Sevinoma

Mockingjay pocket watch necklace sevinoma.etsy.com

ONE ENTRY PER PERSON. This giveaway is open to ALL readers, including the international ones! You must enter by 11:59pm PST on Sunday, June 17! Winners will be chosen by numbering the comments, then choosing three numbers on random.org! Mays the odds be… nevermind, that’s overused like crazy.

1, 2, 3, GO!

Only we would invent a contest in which the only real qualification is to flatter us,
The Girl With The Pearl

P.S. We don’t mean to sound like big ol’ jerks, but…
1) If you sound totally disingenuous and name some random post surrounding this one, we reserve the right to delete your entry.
2) If you try to put in multiple entries using different names, we will delete BOTH.

70 comments

  1. One of my favorite posts was actually when you discussed that The Hunger Games doesn’t need to win every award at the MTV Movie Awards, with good reason we don’t want to be seen in the same light as some of the twi-hards who vote relentlessly so Twilight wins everything. It’s good that there is a voice of reason in regards to the Hunger Games fandom handling themselves with maturity and reason.

  2. Congrats you guys! Yay you! Other then the ‘omg omg Armie & wife commented’ post, my faves are the posts are all the ones where you guys along with other sites each share your thoughts/opinions on fandom related items. Congratulations again guys.

  3. YAY FOR 1 YEAR! Your blog has literally become my fav place for Hunger Games related news and a good laugh I will never forget the hilarity that was the epic “let’s put a Katniss braid on everyone” post. Seriously I emailed the shit out of that post. If you were friend of mine who like THG that would have been shoved in your face and posted on your Facebook wall. But anywho keep on keeping on! And thanks for the giveaway! πŸ˜€

  4. Congrats on 1 year & keep up the good work!
    My fave has to be the Buttercup Watch contest because (selfishly) I got to show off our extremely handsome Mickey to the fandom and (unselfishly) I got to admire other folks’ fine kitties.

  5. Congratulations on your first year anniversary! ❀ I absolutely loveeeeeeee your website. I have it bookmarked in google chrome and visit it daily. One of my favorite posts from the Victor's Village is actually a recent one which is the one talking about Finnick Odair and what's the big deal with him. I found it really interesting. Also the one that talks about Liam Hemsworth getting engaged. I found it funny how everything was very sarcastic (the tips for Miley for her wedding) and yeah, congrats again c:

  6. Congrats guys i love the site . It is so much diffrent then the rest of the sites in a very good way. Instead of just posting about news you post opinions and hilarious ones at that. I would have to say that my fav posts from you guys is in between the ones where you discussed all of the outragous items for sale in our fandom and the post about Jackie Emerson and her friend being called Lesbien. Iliked the post about what ridiculous items that this fandom has created because it shows the crazy side to it. I laughed so hardthe whole time i read that it was ridiculous. The baby hat with tribute “kill or be killed” was sad yet extremely funny andall of the outragous fan-fics out there i mean wow. After i read thati actually went on ebay just looking for hunger games related items and i found on ebay a supposive bra that jennifer lawrence wore while filming the hunger games selling for 300$ i laughed my butt off at that. I always loved how you took a stand against all the people calling jackie alesbian all beause of a picture she took withher best friend. I am straight butibelieve in straight but not narrow just like jackie does. You guys taking a stand mademe so happy ieven talked toj ackie about it, she also tweeted you guys a thank you. We live ina world where evryone assumes things before actually knowing andits so wrong. That could of damaged jackies career so for this site to take a standwith her was amazing. this site is just great all together i love each and everyone of your posts because of there non shame attitude this sight all toghether in my mind is the best hunger games page because of its diffrences. congrats one more time. thank you -annie

  7. “Them there eye’s” post about Armie Hammer! She introduced him to me, and is now the one who I want to play Finnick, and because I got my phone taken up during class for reading it to everyone XD

  8. Them there eyes’s first post about Armie Hammer! She introduced me to him, and he is now my choice Finnick. Also because my teacher took up my phone for reading her post out loud in class!! Love your site!!!! Congrats!!

  9. Congrats on a whole year!!! I love the “cut-the-crap” vibe of your site, it’s so refreshing and straight forward. Getting down to buisness- my favorite post has to be the more recent one about the celebrities reading THG. Why wasn’t the camera on us when we were reading them before they were popular? If celebs want to be the hipsters of literature, maybe they should find an unknown author and use their powers of publicity to make them famous. I agree with everything that your post(s) have to say, and I love this site. You’re not afraid to voice your opinions and I respect that. Thanks again for always giving me an interesting (and amusing) read. πŸ™‚ – Lindsay

  10. I’m new to this site and it seriously kicks butt! I liked all of your posts but the one that really caught my eye was the story about strong female rolmodels in the movie industry. Like you said, it will be a slow change but it’s definitely making so great progress! Sorry this isn’t much flattery, Effie would be disappointed in me. However, keep up the good work!

  11. Happy One Year! It takes a lot to even raise a site, but you guys did it! Quite impressive, if you ask me. You guys are so funny. I love how you guys aren’t afraid to speak your minds about anything, which always makes a great website and it makes you unique. I also like how you’ve stayed true to the fandom all along. Anyways, my favorite post has to be your reaction video to The Hunger Games trailer. The commentary was HILARIOUS!!! I loved your Jack Quaid rant haha :). This site is great so keep it up!

  12. There is one post that has stuck in my mind since April. I completely agreed with all the points made in the post addressing concerns about Jennifer’s weight. I really hope this site continues to grow. I’ll be looking forward to reading more from all of you. Congrats and Happy Anniversary.

  13. First of all, congratulations!!! I am so proud of your blog. Before I say my favorite post, I just wanted to let you know that this has to be my favorite THG blog. I follow several, and when I go to check for my daily updates, I always look forward to yours. It isn’t a news blog, and that’s my favorite part of it all. It challenges me to think about the world of The Hunger Games, and I often find myself agreeing out loud with your posts. So, thank you for that, because it really means a lot to me. Now, I have had many posts of yours that I thoroughly enjoyed, but my favorite would have to be when you took pictures of The Hunger Games cast, and gave them all Katniss hair! I swear, I almost died laughing, and by the time I was done laughing, my stomach hurt:) So, again, thank you for all you do, and have a Happy Hunger Games Anniversary!!!!!

  14. My favorite Victor’s Village post has to be The Hunger Games Theme Park. First of all it was the first ever Victor’s Village post I read and after the split second where I thought it was serious I began to appreciate the sense of humour and thus began to read more posts. This post really introduced me to the great site that is Victor’s Village! Happy Birthday!!!

  15. Congrats on one year! That’s amazing, only 11 more years until you’re old enough to put your name in for the tresses! LOL.

    Anyway I have to say my favorite post by you guys (even though you didn’t write it, you brought it to my attention) I have to say about the article about not caring if “Celebrities” were reading the book I NEVER laughed so hard. Cause I’ve felt the same way; WHO TO FRICK cares if some basketball player is reading. Nobody gave me any HOOPLA over me reading ALL 3 books!

    Then I thought maybe it isn’t the fact that he’s reading THG it’s the fact that he can read at all, a jock with a book?!?! Someone alert the presses! LMBO only kidding…

    Anyway here’s to another year plus (at least 5 years) I can’t wait for more post from you guys!

  16. Congratulations on 1 year guys!!

    I loved the Headlines Schmeadlines post! I completely agree that it is not right to simply use the name of the “Hunger Games” because of its popularity to promote something. Especially when the something that they are promoting goes completely against the morals and the lessons of the book (Hunger Games diets, seriously??)

  17. YAHOOOO! Happy birthday, VV! My favorite was your reaction after the movie. I trust you guys not to bullshit me, so…when you all loved it, I was relieved & even more pumped. Also, all the let’s cast Boggs/Beetee/Plutarch posts. Love.

    And, we’re buying a new house, so I NEED that Mellark Bakery sign for my kitchen. Just sayin’…

  18. Congrats on one year, guys! I’ve been reading this since the beginning, believe it or not, when it was just The Girl with the Pearl. And to tell you the truth, you’re the only Hunger Games fansite I regularly check. Sure, I’ve fanned a bunch on Facebook, but I never read their posts.
    I love how you get to the heart of what Hunger Games fans (especially those of us in our twenties) are really thinking about the franchise. About how we feel about everything from the casting choices (Armie Hammer FTW!) to book interpretations (you thoroughly convinced me that Team Gale is ridiculous) to the completely asinine racial issues surrounding Amandla Stenberg and Lenny Kravitz.
    But my all-time favorite post you wrote was the one about Jennifer Lawrence’s body. Before seeing it on your site, one of my friends (who is a guy and a HUGE movie buff) was complaining to me about Jennifer’s weight. He said that she was too fat and her cheeks were too chubby for her to be playing Katniss. And this is from a guy who actually saw Winter’s Bone! I’ve dealt with body issues before (and I mean, what girl hasn’t), so I naturally went on a tirade about how beautiful Jennifer is, how Katniss technically should have some meat on her bones for all the meat she’s eating and exercise she does daily, and how it’s a shit example for young girls to see a heroine with an unrealistically thin body.
    After this argument, I heard the same complaint from others, and started to believe that I was the crazy one. But then I saw the article on Victor’s Village, and I was so relieved. You made the same arguments that I did, and presented the whole thing way more articulately (and with a lot less f-bombs) than I did. I had loved your site before, but I REALLY loved it then.
    So thanks for always speaking your minds, and speaking up for the fanbase. Here’s to many more years of Victor’s Village!!

  19. Congrats!

    I liked the post about the domestic grosses of the movie, it’s amazing that the first hunger games movie beat out all 8 HP movies!

  20. A year, already?!?
    I swear that it hasn’t felt that long.

    Well.. Happy 1st Victor’s Village Anniversary!
    *Raises tea cup*
    Here’s to the next year !

    1. Oh, and my favourite posts are the “Finding Finnick Odair” ones…
      The fandom is either going to implode or explode when he is cast.

  21. Congrats on a year!!! I’ve been reading, if not posting comments, for most of that time and this is my favorite fansite! The best post was the one about a hundred days of braids back at Christmas. I did it and got a lot of my students to do it too!

  22. I just recently came to your site after starting to listen to the HG Fireside Chat wich I started because the movie got me interested in the HG book series… I always love your extended thoughts on the subjects your posting about. Thinking of a favorite post immediately the article about celebrities reading the books in public came to my mind. I was very well written and I just had to smile at the thought that the HG has become so popular meanwhile that those people try to raise their status by getting “caught” reading them in public…
    Keep on writing!
    greetings from Switzerland

  23. Although every post here is well-written and thoughtful, I think my favorite post would have to be “Celebrities Read The Hunger Games, We Remain Unimpressed.” Normally, I don’t pay much attention to celebrities because that subject simply doesn’t interest me, but your viewpoint really opened my eyes to how the media capitalizes on such unimportant issues. Also, congratulations on your first-year anniversary!

  24. Aww, shucks. Thanks for the shoutout guys!

    I remember when I first found Victor’s Village. At first I thought, “Whoa.” And then I thought, “Cool.” And then I was like, “You go, girls!”

    I love how you have broken the mold of the typical fan site. Rather than just giving us the latest rumor on movie casting or reporting what Josh Hutcherson ate for breakfast, you challenge us to think about fandom and you shine a light on some of the goofiness that entails. You’ve made us grumble, and laugh and fist-pump.

    So, happy one-year anniversary Victor’s Village! Keep it coming!

  25. I loved your post about the “Disturbing” Hunger Games stuff you found on the internet. It was written so engagingly and it made me laugh so hard! Especially the part about the Baby Clothes discussing killing! I mean, what sort of person would really think it was appropriate to make stuff like that? They were desperate for sales, I reckon -_- (but I hope they didn’t get any from them! Who would want to but THOSE clothes for their baby?) Anyway, It really made me smile, and reminded me of just how idiotic people can be sometimes. And i’m glad you agreed with me! Just show’s how similar Hunger Games fans usually are πŸ˜€ anyway, that article made me chuckle at the stupid (and yes, I agree, VERY disturbing) Hunger Games things that had been made, whilst also making me think about how blatantly copied some of it was, and how it was clearly just a cry for attention and sales. So yes, that one has always stuck out as my favourite article on here, for making me think and laugh! Thankyou! πŸ™‚ And congratulations on your one year anniversary!

  26. Yay for a year!! Congratulations! Besides any post regarding Finnick casting (thank you so much for keeping us informed there!), I loved the post about Hunger Games around the water cooler. I am a 37 year old mother of 2 who works in the school system. I actually was talked into reading it by a man I work with who is almost 40. I love that the series has something for everyone. After reading all 3 books in less than a week, my 12 year old son is now almost done with book 2. Thank you for ALL your hardwork!

  27. Congrats on one year! I’ve just recently found out about this website & I love it. My favorite posts that I’ve seen have been the “finding finnick” posts because.. Well, I love Finnick. Haha keep up the good work πŸ™‚

  28. I don’t know which one is my favorite. I love the “Finding Finnick” ones…my favorite one is probably the “Apology to Alexander Ludwig” because it points out that we get assumptions of actors, and even just people, in our heads and while they can be right at times, they are often wrong I think. We just have to get to know the person (or in Alexander’s case watch their performance, interviews, etc. and how they handle things after and out in public) and see how they really are. We don’t need to judge people based on their appearance or what they seem like. And it takes a lot of courage and guts to apologize–though I’m not sure he actually read it–though a lot of people did, and it was posted on a well known site and read by a lot of people. I know it was probably difficult to write it. And WAY TO GO! Happy anniversary!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  29. Congrats on one year!! I have to say that this is definently one of my favorite Hunger Games websites! I love the humor you put in your articles and I love how you’re not afraid to speak your mind. You actually discuss the Hunger Games and the fandom instead of feeding us rumors and such. One of my favorite articles was one a while ago where you defended Jennifer’s body. I felt like all the cristism she was getting for “not having the right body”, was unfair and downright mean and I liked how you took a stand against it. Keep up the good work!!! πŸ˜€

  30. Congratulations on one year! I absolutely loved the post about people using baby names that were Hunger Games related, it really made me laugh reading some of the names people had decided to call their children, I understood gale, cause some baby boys are actually called Gale, but Katniss was pretty ridiculous πŸ™‚ anyway, that was my favourite post. Happy Anniversary! My email is alicefielden@hotmail.com

  31. Congrats guys!! Even though I just heard about this site like about 2 weeks ago, it is quickly becoming one of my favorite Hunger Games sites!! πŸ™‚ I have gone back and read a lot of previous posts as soon as i became aware of this site! I love how the posts are not just info and stuff, while that is great and all, and you do post it, I love the added personal stuff, like the “Finding my Hunger Games BFF” Post. I like how you guys are more personal! πŸ™‚ I think that was my favorite posts from you guys because it made me realize that i’m not the only one who cant find someone who loves The Hunger Games as much as me. πŸ˜‰ I love how your not afraid to speak your mind, even if it may bring controversy in some way sometimes. I like how you put humor into your posts! They are just so great, fun, entertaining, and informing to read! πŸ™‚ Congrats on your 1 year anniversary!!! This is an amazing site! Keep doing what your doing! Thanks for the Contest! And may the odds be ever in your favor! πŸ˜‰ My email address is smnblank@gmail.com Thanks!

  32. well i’m going to be honest: i begun to follow you today june 14 so it would be ridiculous to say i had been reading all your articles since always, also is not my fault to be following you since today because actually i created my twitter account today so i had no idea who you were until today (happy universary! :D) but i really want any of those gifts from the hunger games! is that the hunger games are amazing, it’s my favorite trilogy and i really enjoy reading them, looking for pictures and i watch the movie like 5 times!, can’t wait to watch catching fire!! 11.22.13 πŸ˜€ well maybe you all ready stop reading but i actually decided to read many of your articles so i could win any of the prices!. my favorite article is “who are we going to stalk in 2012” it was so awesome! i am not suspicious so i don’t believe the world is going to end! hhaha i will love so much to meet any one of the cast of the hunger games! they are amazing actors but meeting suzzane collins will make me so happy! i could die in peace seriously! haha so i really liked that article because those things are the ones i want to do but i don’t think i have the chance in 2012, but i have to do it before i die! seriously, haha, so have a good aniversary! and i hope that the winners really enjoy the prices :). my hotmail: rpg-raquel@hotmail.com

  33. First off, I loveeee this website because it offers insight and opinions rather than news that you can find on hundreds of other sites. So thank you for creating a safe haven where Hunger Games fans can go to express their ideas!! It’s hard for me to choose one post because I love so many but if I had to pick one it’d have to be the one addressing the “haters” of Mockingjay. When I read the title I knew that there were going to be strong opinions being thrust around because the topic is near and dear to so many because of the trilogy’s “controversial” third book. Before reading this post I had mixed feelings about it myself. I definitely wasn’t a “hater” but was slightly confused on why a few parts happened the way they did. But your post offered me a new perspective on the book and answered my lingering questions. For one, I didn’t quite grasp why Peeta had to be turned into this brain-washed monster and permanently scarred for the rest of his life but you argued that “Katniss finally has the chance to long for Peeta, the way he was for her…” This makes sense because Katniss was always the one with the reigns in her hands, capable of controlling her future with either Gale or Peeta but is instead forced to long for him (Peeta), eventually showing herself that she does indeed love him. This question used to be a splinter in my mind but after reading this my mixed feelings on Mockingjay changed and I learned to appreciate and understand the choices Suzanne Collins made in the final installment of the trilogy. I also admired the way you answered back to people’s comments because there were some pretty ridiculous things being said like “Peeta forced Katniss to have kids” etc. If I were you I would’ve started WW3 but you refuted the accusations with logic and insight which had a much stronger impact than what I would’ve done. In other words, I loved this post because me, being a stubborn person regarding things I treasure dearly (THG), was able to gain a new perspective on the series’ ending and come to peace with these characters that I’ve come to cherish and adore. I wish I could comment on more of your guys’ posts because there are so many great ones! My email is mollyholmes20@yahoo.com and thanks for considering my entry! πŸ™‚

  34. Congratulations on your first year!!
    My favorite post is the open letter to Armie Hammer to play Finnick Odair. I totally agree with you guys and I think that he is the perfect Finnick. You explained what every #Armie4Finnick fan would wanna say to him. And it’s great that you decided to make one so that Armie and his wife would find out about the role and so that Hunger Games and Armie Hammer fans can come together and agree to it.
    More power to Victor’s Village and The Hunger Games! πŸ™‚

  35. I wasn’t done typing yet :/ whoops sorry. There are so many that I liked so it was so hard to chose just one. The one where you addressed the fact of people saying Jackie Emerson was lesbian was really good too. Congrats on the one year anniversary . I hope you add this one on to my last post since I can’t change it. Thanks for considering my entry. πŸ™‚

  36. Happy Birthday, Victor’s Village! I cherish the day I relinquished the domain to you so you could provide such extraordinary, hilarious, high-quality analysis. I also care deeply about all three of you, as I consider each of you among my absolute closest friends.

    In short, you’re awesome!! Thanks so much for being a part of my life:)

    -Adam

    1. Thanks so much for helping this site out and bringing it to its full potential! We all consider you a close friend and we’re really lucky to have found awesome people like you in The Hunger Games “community”!

  37. Congrats on your 1 year! i love your website so much and all of the posts you make! I really liked the post you made as a belated mother’s day for Suzanne Collins. She really is the world’s best mom and i love that you honored her in a way that she should be. Her novels are not only AMAZING but send a message to society about how we live and how we need to change, and that’s extremely commendable. Thanks so much for your posts for the past year, and i cant wait to read more for many years to come! πŸ˜€

  38. How to REALLY Train like a Tribute! Happy 1st anniversary!!! I like this post because I’m always wondering about ways to spice up my workouts! I also always try to remember that I am not in Hunger Games shape haha I got to be built like a Career…

  39. Has it really been one year since this website started? Feels like yesterday! I’ve been coming here since, gosh, November last year for all the Hunger Games related news, and to see if anyone agreed with my innermost thoughts on things. I found that I agreed with almost everything stated, and I’ll admit, it was good to see that someone finally UNDERSTOOD! Anyways, I’d have to say that one of my favorite posts was the one about Jackie Emerson and her friend at prom. I know that might not have been really Hunger Games relevant, but I still enjoyed reading it. I’ve been fending off some ‘phobes of my own after posting pictures from my birthday, and I think it’s ridiculous that I should have to! Girls should be able to hug and pose with their friends and not be called gay for it! But after all that, thanks for creating this website in the first place, congrats on the one year anniversary, and thanks so much for keeping us updated!

  40. Alright so this is the best site ever!! I check for a post like everyday! I’m so glad that I have fellow Hunger Games fans that dont just stop being fans after the movie is over! Moving along my two favorite posts we’re Why You’re Really Here and Putting Up With Katniss Everdeen. First I think it’s freaking hilarious that people would EVER look those things up! It shows how sketch fandom can sometimes be!! Second I agree wholeheartedly with everything you said in that post because I never understood how she could get away with being a bitch sometimes!! I always felt bad for both Peeta and Gale because she lead both of them on…however Gale did kiss her when she was mentally unstable. Some honorable mentions were: Sexually Depraved Scenes Implied by The Hunger Games, Gale Hawthorne: What Are We Missing, The Ever-Growing Peeta Love, Mockingjay: Top Ten Life Lessons, The Finnick Fail, all the Finding Finnick Odairs, and TOO Perfectly Prim. I just love how y’all are soooo objective about everything and don’t let your opinions get in the way of writing another great post! Thanks for everything and anything y’all do! (;

  41. Congratulations on the year anniversary, man I can’t believe how quick this last year has flown by. My favourite post is definitely the Finding Finnick Odair posts. I love Finnick, I think he is such an interesting character, and I am excited to see who gets the final casting. I am hoping for Garrett Hedlund, and have been ever since your post back in January.
    Hopefully this will be just the first of many many anniversaries for you guys! Thanks for everything you’ve posted, you’re all amazing πŸ™‚

  42. My favorite is “The Unfollow Fail.” It was the perfect combination of diehard fan devotion and snarky smackdown. Epic.

    My e-mail address is shannonmay46@yahoo.com, and if I win, I will trade anybody anything for that pocketwatch.

  43. Nice one! Happy birthday!:) my favourite article is “How to REALLY Train Like a Tribute”. It’s hilarious, it’s stupid to compare the hunger games to these sort of things, especially diets(mentioned in another article, can’t remember the name right now:/) i love the different workout you guys have created to help us all train and get into shape for the catching fire premiere:P Watching the weather forecast to find the perfect day to train:D heck, I even have an archery set I’ve never used, hmmm that may come in handy.

  44. Congrats on one year! Love this site! My favourite post was “Fate Be Told” because I really want Armie Hammer to play Finnick Odair and this post just made me wow. From this article you completely convinced me that it was fate for Armie to play Finnick! Keep up the great work this site is amazing! πŸ™‚ May the odds be ever in your favor

  45. Hunger Games Fireside Chat Drinking Game! I love HGFC and laughed so hard when I realized they do every single one of those things every episode. I laughed even harder when, rather than acting disapproving, Adam and Savannah started purposely saying things on the episode following that post so that people had to keep drinking:D I wasn’t expecting that, so it was really funny:)

    I also love the Armie Hammer posts. I had never really heard of him, and Finnick is a character I have never been able to picture an actor playing. You guys changed that, and now there is an actor out there that would make me esthatic if he got the role! (even though i only saw five seconds of him during a moment i actually paid attention to in the social network, i still love him because yall convinced me that much!) I really hope he gets it now:)

  46. Congratulations! My favorite post or posts would have to be when you give statistics about milestones that the movie has reached. It makes me so excited to see my favorite book series doing so well as a movie!

  47. Really?! We can only choose one post? Being old enough to be Josh Hutcherson’s mother, I routinely check various “reputable” HG fan sites, hoping I don’t become a “creepy fan.” And Victor’s Village ALWAYS makes me laugh out loud. You find a way to mention head desk and hand palm moments on a pretty frequent basis: like the media needs to stop saying Robert Pattison is a serious contender, stop bullying various actors rumored to play Finnick, and celebrities need to stop trying to up their cool factor by reading THG. But the open letter to Armie Hammer… gee, that is just so sweet! I must not have been a fan back when he responded to your site before. I would feel pretty sad if he doesn’t even consider the role when he seems so perfect for it on the outside (and I mean the tying ropes, Caribbean childhood, loving marriage, not just the good looks).

  48. It was so hard to choose just one!!! I love all of your posts, my favorite part about this blog is that you three girls put your own spin on the posts! I absolutely fell in love when I first started reading this (about two months before the Hunger Games movie came out, I was a late entry into the fandom but I’m here now!!) you add your own flair and the conversational tone that you bring into this fandom is amazing! I truly enjoy your writing style because even though we’ve never meet or spoken at all it feels like were friends and your just filling me on a little something that I missed or discussing your side of a topic, your not afraid to cuss to get your point across, or call someone out for their idiocy (Daniel Newman anyone???) or delve into an area that most fansites leave alone (the mis-guided Mockingjay hate, even though it was a guest post it falls into this category) All of your posts are real sounding, and down to earth and I LOVE that about you three!! But now onto the post I choose as my favorite (though it was a really hard choice) is your Train Like a Tribute post (http://victorsvillage.com/2012/05/03/how-to-really-train-like-a-tribute/) I chose this post because it perfectly showcases all of the elements that I talked about above, the sarcasm, calling out the gym programs for their not quite right interpretation of the Hunger Games and what it means, and admit just like an old friend how not prepared you would be for the Hunger Games Arena, (though you’d still do better than me I’m sure!) This post just like all of your others is just perfect and I can’t thank all, Them There Eyes, Twidiffy, and The Girl with the Pearl enough for the putting your own spin on the Hunger Games that we all know and love so much! It’s amazing to know that someone, (usually three someones) out there share my opinions about the fandom and love it as much as I do!!! Maybe one day I’ll meet you three at somewhere of Hunger Games importance but until then (if this dream of mine ever does come true) I will sit here and thoroughly enjoy your posts!!!! Thank you for sharing your options with us Hunger Games fans out there and for just being you!!! All three of you!!!!!

  49. After One Year I’m glad to say I’m still here! Seriously, still here, but barely. Because every time I come here I end up laughing so hard I consider I may die and I end up attractively spitting my drink out. Between you all you’ve left me so much to think about and so much to say. Through heated comment debates and witty quips, you guys have me smiling no matter what. I think that the posts I love the most are the casting ones. From last year when all we ever did was sit on our backsides waiting for announcements, eating ourselves out of house and home and whispering sweet nothings to our laptops and computers, to now, when I’m constantly checking Twitter wherever I go because I cannot miss casting and you guys work tirelessly to get the info to us before Perez Hilton gets his grimey hands on it. But hey, we did it together, right? And look how far we’ve came. Of course, us fans can’t take all the credit. Look how much you guys have worked for us and yes, within the HG fandom you are pretty famous. And beyond, might I add, because any new recruits in our fandom are directed to you via me. So I guess it’s appropriate to say you guys are the Soldier York of the fandom. I wish you all another year of happiness and as always, my love for this site is 100% Peeniss-Certified Real.

  50. Congrats on the ONE year guys!! I really love reading your posts because they are fun and entertaining. I liked the post about Rob being rumored to play Finnick. It made me laugh because I had already read about it and it reminded me of his agents response and it made me laugh. You guys always make the posts and interesting and add some great humor. Thanks for the awesome contest and Congratulations again!!

  51. Congratulations on your one year anniversary! I love this page and have loved seeing it go so far. One of my favourite posts that you have done is you apology letter to Alexander Ludwig, as as well as finding it humorous, it was really interesting to read how our thought on him has changed, and how I have subconsciously had a similar thought process when it concerns Alexander, one of my favourite actors from the movie. Although that particular post is the probably my favourites, I have loved many of them, and thankyou very much for creating this site so that I have been able to read all these posts! And finally, congratulations once again!

  52. Geesh you have made it the hardest, just one, really!? lol I have to be completely honest here, I just recently heard about Victor’s Village, I wish I had known this entire time, but I’ve followed now so any and every post will be sent to my email.. one word, yay! xD So I’ve spent some time stalking your posts lol I love alot of the pictures that go along with them some hilarious I must say and the little teddy on “While It Lasted” is just adorable, the possible? movie poster for Catching Fire that was along with “The Sequel to the Movie about the Games Involving Hunger” is breathtaking xD But you just want to know what posts we love right? Ok before I go on for way too long, I absolutely love and totally agree with “Can We Move On?” I know its more of a recent one but it hit home with me I totally agree, the media messes too much with untruths to make people believe whatever they want to believe, it must be annoying to some of the actors, they are still people after all, I mean we all want who we want for certain roles in the upcoming Hunger Games sequels and the media with its sneaky mostly annoying ways pushes rumours like its going out of style -__- I know we all can’t wait to hear real news which is usually not the easiest thing to wait for, which is exactly what they take advantage of. So to end this forever paragraph… CONGRATS!! on one year!! and hopefully more to come! All in all I am so glad to discover Victor’s Village, with a ‘ in victors πŸ˜‰ your posts are an interesting read, funny, insightful, trithful, bold all in all I will be coming back for more, I definitely look forward to more reading πŸ™‚

  53. Hey awsome giveaway!happy anniversary!! I just recently found out about your site but already love it!!! Some of my favorite posts are where u talk about how upset some fans get that the movie cut out a few minor details. I completely agree!!!also love the finding finnick odair πŸ™‚

  54. cool giveaway!!!!!:) love this site!!!!! u guys r awesome!!! my fav posts are where u talk about where u talk about fans that get upset because th movie cut out some details that is totally me!!!!:) πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ the posts are funny and true:):):):) please o please pick me!!! i am obsessed with the hg i even got my phone taken away because i kept looking at hg sites

  55. Howdy, I do think your blog may be having web browser
    compatibility problems. When I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however,
    when opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Aside
    from that, excellent website!

Leave a Reply

