While It Lasted

Yesterday was a strange day, it started out slow, then it just picked up speed like a 16 year-old who’s just got their license and is out joyriding in the family station wagon. People still drive those, right? Yesterday, of course, was all about Finnick, or three Finnick’s if you will, and then some dude who simply doesn’t have a name yet, but could possibly be called Finnick too, who the hell knows. Yep, I’ve been going on about, if you haven’t guessed it yet, the Short-List rumors. Got to be said, I’m really getting tired of all the news I write on being based solely on rumors, I need some official information soon, or I’m going to do something stupid, really really stupid– like read a best-seller that’s not The Hunger Games.

I detest rumors, but I think I liked this one the best out of all the ones that have surfaced throughout my tenure of being an obsessed fan of this silly, yet wonderful series. I mean, what’s not to like, my favorite actor for Finnick was at the top of the list for the role, and two other guys I can tolerate were there too, and could

Our life blood?

possibly get into them if things go their way. Also, there was  tiny sprinkle of hope that real honest to god official news on the casting of Finnick may actually come out and say hello, however only at the end of the week. But, all that hope was quickly dashed by this afternoon, because the rumor, which it was always reported being, was ripped apart by another site, and thus I cried a thousand non-existent tears, and tried to vlog about it. Yep, I really need to stop doing that, nothing good can come of it, I swear on my dead cats soul.

When did Finnick get a facial tattoo?

The only thing good to come out of this short-lived rumor were two things: News of the audition pieces that will be required of whom ever is deemed Finnick material was released. And they will be: Finnick’s infamous sugar cube scene, and Finnick’s freakout in the arena when he hears the Jabberjay’s mimicking Annie’s voice. Yay! Oh, the other thing, which really isn’t a thing per se, is just knowing that even though the rumor was debunked, the same thing happened when information was slowly trickling in on the casting of The Hunger Games, and about 90% of the people ended up later coming out and saying “I auditioned!” Also, note: None of the people on that list has said a thing to the media about the role, except one of them– who said months ago that he’s not interested. One guess who said that, only one– make it count.

Unsubstantiated rumors are the worst, but at least no one on that list was ever on 90210, Glee, a former English model, or in a Disney musical.

Them There Eyes

9 comments

  1. I got all excited when I read about this too yesterday and then kind of let down when I saw the Zap2it piece. But then I realized it’s worded very carefully – in just such a way as to leave room for the possibility that the rumor is true and they simply can’t confirm it. To me it doesn’t deny anything, it just gives Lionsgate some wiggle room in case they decide to go in a different direction. So we might as well keep hoping till we hear otherwise.

    1. Well, now we know Kitsch is out, or was never in! And you’re right, the Zap piece is rather carefully worded. I’m gettin’ mighty tired of people just saying “sources”, dude– if I wanted to just say “sources” I could say whatever the hell I wanted, but I refuse to go down that road. Wiggle room or not, nothing is substantiated except our ardent desire that this character be cast already.

  2. I’m actually dreading the announcement. Just like when Jennifer, Josh and Liam were cast, I’m sure there will be an uproar from those fans whose favs weren’t chosen to play Finnick, all swearing that the movie is ruined and refusing to go see it. I wish we could all just mellow out a bit and give the chosen Finnick a chance to show his stuff. …minds out of the gutter, guys. 😉

    1. People are entitled to relish in their own misery, that’s my point of view. I say, let ’em! You seem like an optimistic person, whom ever is cast, I think we’re going to be okay. I mean look at who they’ve already cast, they’re amazing. No matter what the new cast members have to be able to go toe to toe with everyone already on board, so… yeah, we’re going to be okay!

      PS. I like having my mind in the gutter, thank you very much. 😉

    1. Nothing yet on the script, we’re just strongly assuming that those who audition will be given copies of the books with highlighted portions of dialog.

  3. See, I don’t think E! nor Zap2It really knows. In both cases, they suspect something but can’t get official confirmation. They both have “sources”, but unnamed sources are often bogus. Hopefully, we get real news sooner rather than later…

    As for your closing sentence, a girl from Glee is being rumored for Johanna Mason now. I’m going to rip out all my hair.

Leave a Reply

