Who Run the World?

Look at that heroine!

Lately, it seems as if I can’t get enough of the ladies! And Katniss has a lot of to do with it.

When I first read The Hunger Games in 2010, I was incredibly thankful to Suzanne Collins for creating the character of Katniss Everdeen. “This is how you do it!” I’d say to everyone enthusiastically. Give me a female character with depth, flaws and a story all her own.

Now, I find myself seeking out stories, whether it be in books, movies, or TV, with female characters I can root for. I’ve recently become obsessed with the show Game of Thrones (shhh I’m going to start the first ASOIAF book this week), and while the setting of the books is oppressive to women and the story is overrun with male characters, all the characters that I hold dear to my heart are female. All of them have depth, flaws and a clear motivation that isn’t driven by the desires and affections of men.

Said Brave ad, it’s huge!

And even in music, I’m turning to the girls. Yesterday, I got incredibly frustrated with Pandora for somehow turning my Ingrid Michaelson station into a bro-fest. I resorted to throwing three more female artists into the mix so that Pandora would get the hint.

At the very least, I’m hoping that the overwhelming success of The Hunger Games, that the fact that Katniss and her story aren’t just popular with young girls but men, women and children of all ages, is a signal to Hollywood. That and the fact that so many movies following The Hunger Games that weren’t called The Avengers straight up failed at the box office. Things don’t change quickly in the movie industry, but I welcome a change when it does come (sooner rather than later, though, I hope). Last week I saw a huge ad for Brave all along the side of a building and smiled. More movies like these, please.

And don’t forget to #VoteKatniss for Best Hero for the 2012 MTV Movie Awards! 

They are a-changing
Twiffidy

2 comments

  1. I agree! I think one of the main reasons that the Hunger Games is COMPLETELY & Hopelessly addictive is that Katniss is a Strong Leader. She exhibits many of the wonderul traits that Peeta verbalizes. He talks about strength of character, sacrifice, preparedness, skill as well as love & beauty – which one of those is not a direct description of Katniss herself?
    Im also a super Pixar fan & am super happy that they are finally featuring a female lead! & an archer too!
    Keep up the great blogging – Girl Power!

Leave a Reply

