Finding Finnick Odair – Zac Efron

Zac Efron has come a long way from the days of High School Musical. He will next be staring in ‘The Paperboy’ with Nicole Kidman. His stint as Logan in ‘The Lucky One’ certified him as an adult heart throb. But what do the fan sites think about him playing Finnick?

Victor’s Village
Tiffany: I’ll be honest. When I first read Catching Fire, I pictured Zac Efron as Finnick. Not in a he-could-play-him-in-the-movie way, but more as a place holder since he is the right age and shares a few characteristics with the character. I’m a fan of his. I’ve seen and loved his movies, and I like him as a person. Recently, I saw Charlie St. Cloud, and a scene where he dives into the ocean made me go, “How Finnick of him!” That being said, he isn’t my Finnick. He’s too close to Jennifer’s height, and I can’t endorse a Finnick under 6 feet (and he’s well under it at 5’8″). If he were cast, I wouldn’t put up too much of a fuss because I like him as a person, but I think we could find someone better.

Zac Efron Finnick Odair

Zac Efron

HG Movie Site
Efron, you are no longer the annoying kid from High School Musical to me. After seeing you in the Nicholas Sparks movie, we are all over you being Finnick. We think you could carry off the raw sexuality, the hero… the amazeness. However, you are not Finnick to us. You just don’t scream the guy that could win the games. We mean we hate to say it, but casting you would just cause damage to the franchise we love. And I think that you have had your franchise, you wouldn’t want to screw this one up. Keep on with the adult roles, we appreciate that about you.

Hunger Games DWTC
Theresa: I’ll admit Zac Efron is cute, adorable and talented, and he’s been working hard to “break free” from his High School Musical Days, something that is no easy task. But is he Finnick material? In my mind, no he’s not. Zac may be trying hard to step away from the Disney mold, but I still haven’t been able to see beyond it and I’m sure there are a lot of other fans who feel the same. We need someone to step into the role of Finnick and become the character, much like Jennifer and Josh truly became Katniss and Peeta, and I just can’t see Zac being able to do that. If he were cast, I’m afraid I wouldn’t see Finnick on screen, I’d see Troy. Sad, but true.

HG Fireside Chat
Savanna: I’m not a huge fan of Zac Efron, but I think he’s a great person and an underrated actor (he was awesome in Me and Orson Welles). Is he talented enough to pull off a role like Finnick, though? I’m not sure. Even if he is, he hasn’t had enough time to fully break away from his association with High School Musical and the teenybopper set, and I think casting him would probably do more harm to the franchise than good.

HG Girl on Fire
Sheila: Zac Efron has definitely grown up. With his recent appearance in the Lucky One, I was convinced that he has definitely transitioned nicely into mature adult roles. While I believe that Zac definitely has the looks and the acting skills to take on Finnick Odair, the problem that I see is simply that he’s Zac Efron, someone people has come to feel very familiar with over the years, and is too recognizable a celebrity which will make his believability as Finnick a difficult transition.

Mockingjay.net
Crystal: Zac Efron is cute, but I think he looks a little too young and boyish to be Finnick. The only thing I’ve seen him in is Hairspray and that was five years ago. All that aside, no matter how great of an actor he is, since he’s such a popular teen idol, I really don’t want to see him as Finnick. It would be like plopping Justin Bieber into the role, only not as bad. I’d never be able to see Finnick, only Zac Efron.

The Hob
Amanda: Zac has come a long way from this High School Musical days, and his latest film The Paperboy with Matthew McConaughey and Nicole Kidman is meant to show a grown up, more serious actor. But I’m still not sure if audiences would be able to see him as Finnick and not his real-life persona. In the same vein as Justin Timberlake, Zac’s pop culture image may be too big for the role. But if it’s possible for him to overcome that, then I have to admit that I think he could physically look the part. He is very attractive, in great physical shape, and the right age. Finnick could be the role Zac needs to break out of the teen idol bubble, and I think he could bring the right level of attitude and vulnerability to the part.

2 comments

  1. I will admit Zac Efron is devilishly attractive. I will also admit I could see him as Finnick. But he can’t play the part. During Catching Fire I’d be thinking: where’s the singing and where’s Vanessa?… oh yea different movie. His face is right for the part but like Amanda from the Hob said, he’s too recognizable. If he was cast I would probably be fine with that but I would just see Troy not Finnick.

  2. You guys have converted me to an Armie Hammer for Finnick supporter, but I think Zac Efron wouldn’t be a bad choice. Yes, he was a Disney kid. But I think he’s proven he is talented and versatile (and can beef up), so he could surprise us. And remember Anne Hathaway in The Princess Diaries, a fluffy Disney movie? I’m sure no one thought she could pull off a tortured alcoholic in Rachel Getting Married or a tough cowgirl in Brokeback Mountain, or suit up in sexy leather to play Catwoman. So you neeeeeever know…

Leave a Reply

